Judo Northwest

Judo Northwest

Northwest Judo Yudanshakai & Washington State Judo Inc.

Welcome

**Memo from USJF Medical Committee regarding ongoing COVID-19 Pandemic (March 14, 2020)**

Welcome to the JudoNW website, a cooperative effort to supply our members and persons looking into the martial way known as Judo.

Judo translates to The Gentle Way and is practiced around the world as a physical education program, a competitive sport played locally, nationally and internationally. Judo has been an Olympic sport since 1964.  Judo has something for everyone, including those that want to compete against others but also for those that want to compete against the toughest opponent they will ever meet, themselves. Judo teaches a variety of techniques from throws to grappling. It can be practiced as both a competitive and a recreational sport. Kata or the practice of choreographed movements, as well as Self Defense are also part of the study of Judo.

For those of you that already know what I am talking about this site is set up to help keep you informed of events happening within the NW. You will also find an archive page where you can find articles of interest as well as results from area events and meeting minutes.

On behalf of the Northwest Judo Yudanshakai (NWJY) and Washington State Judo Incorporate (WSJI) I bid you welcome and encourage you to reach out should you have any questions.

Jason Harai                                             Brian Toth

   President, NWJY                                       President, WSJI

               ippondojo@aol.com                            quidget5@hotmail.com

 

Photos courtesy of John and Kathryn Beck of Saddleburn Media

Area Clubs

 

Judo NW Area Clubs

Club NameLocationContact NameContact InfoWebsite
Best Martial Arts Institute - Judo ClubEugene, ORSteve Nisewander senseibest@gmail.com
Budokan Judo ClubSeattle, WAJohn Schaedler jschaedler@aquaquip.comBudokan Judo website
Cherry City Judo ClubSalem, ORLoren Looselfdjtl@gmail.com
Columbia JudoKennewick, WAMike PurcellColumbiaJudoDojo@gmail.comColumbia Judo website
Emerald City DojoRedmond, WAGreg Deangreg@familydean.net Emerald City Judo website
Glacier Peak JudoSnohomish, WAJoe ButlerMelody.gillette@sno.wednet.edu
Ippon Judo DojoLakewood, WAJason Haraiippondojo@aol.com Ippon Judo Dojo website
Impact JudoBeaverton, ORPatrick Hendrickspat@woble.net
Joseki JudoSpokane Valley, WAJoshua HeuettJosekidojo@gmail.com
Judo Club at University of WashingtonSeattle, WADave Christiansonjudouw@uw.edu Judo UW website
Kent Schools Judo DojoKent, WAPhilip DavisPhilip.davis@kent.k12.wa.us
Ki Haku Judo ClubEnumclaw, WAMike NepperKi Haku Judo facebook page
Kitsap JudoBremerton, WAJan Mossjan.moss14@yahoo.com
Lakeland Judo ClubRathdrum, IDJennifer Badertscherlakelandjudoclub@gmail.comLakeland Judo facebook page
Martial Arts and Judo Academy of BillingsBillings, MTDavid Allendnallen126@msn.com Martial Arts and Judo Academy website
Mercer Island Judo DojoBellevue, WAHarold Yamadamercerislanddojo@hotmail.com Mercer Island Judo facebook page
Mountain View JudoAnchorage, AKDavid CheverieDavid@mountainviewjudo.com Mountain View Judo website
North Sound JudoLake Stevens, WAOscar GonzalezOscar1986mex@gmail.com
Oak Tree DojoYelm, WAFred Ogdenchffred@aol.com Oak Tree Judo facebook page
Obukan DojoPortland, ORToshio Ichinoeobukanjudo@yahoo.com Obukan Judo website
Ojukan JudoHillsboro, ORTim Reynoldsojukan@gmail.com Ojukan Judo website
Olympic Pensinsula YMCAPort Angeles, WAPat Craincrain@olypen.com
Oregon State UniversityCorvallis, ORJulie Koyamajudo@oregonstate.edu
Pacific Judo AcademySpokane, WALeigh and Sam Yamadapacificjudoacademy@comcast.net Pacific Judo Academy website
Richland JudoRichland, WAGael Gettelmangaelgmanx@gmail.com
Sakuma Judo DojoBow, WAAaron Hillairebksak@hotmail.com
Sakurakan Judo DojoSumner, WAMatt McDanielmcdaniel_marjorie@yahoo.com
Seattle DojoSeattle, WAAlan Yamadaseattledojo@hotmail.com
Seiei Judo ClubBellevue, WAJune Encarnacioninfo@seieidojo.com Seiei Dojo website
Seiwakan JudojoPortland, ORJason Fortin-Luedtkeseiwakan@seiwakan.org Seiwakan Judojo website
Shudokan Judo DojoPortland, ORBlane Bellerudshudokanjudo@gmail.com Shudokan Judo website
Snohomish DojoLynnwood, WATroy Leissnohojudo@comcast.net
South Sound JudoTumwater, WAChris Williamschrisw2@comcast.net
Southwestern Oregon Community College JudoCoos Bay, ORRob Schabr.schab@charter.net
Spokane JudoSpokane, WABrett Lewisbrettlewis@brettlewis.us Spokane Judo website
Tri-City JudoKennewick, WARobert Borischrwborisch@yahoo.com Tri-City Judo website
Western Washington University JudoBellingham, WAMark Glasermgwwu@comcast.net Western Washington University facebook page
Whatcom DojoLynden, WAMichael Sullivanmichaelsullivan13@comcast.net Whatcom Judo Dojo facebook page
Yushido Judo ClubPuyallup, WABen Goucheryushidojudo@gmail.com
Zenyu Judo DojoMaple Valley, WADoug Grahamrockridgefarm@earthlink.netZenyu Judo Dojo website

Upcoming Events

Upcoming Events in the Pacific Northwest

Due to the current COVID-19 pandemic, all judo tournaments scheduled for Spring 2020 have either been officially cancelled or postponed.  Stay safe everyone! 

**Memo from USJF Medical Committee regarding ongoing COVID-19 Pandemic (March 14, 2020)**

 

  • Obukan Judo Tournament

Saturday, March 21, 2020
Portland, OR

Obukan is hosting their 64th Annual Obukan Judo Shiai & Kata/ Onchi Sensei Memorial Tournament.  Kata competition is scheduled for Friday, March 20, 6pm.  Shiai will begin at 9:00 am on Saturday, March 21.

Registration information is available at the following: Obukan Tournament registration link

 

  • Budokan Tournament

Saturday, April 18, 2020
Kent, WA

Registration information will be posted when available

 

  • Battle by the Lake

Saturday, April 25, 2020
Coeur d’Alene High School

Battle by the Lake tournament information

 

  • Seattle Dojo Tournament

Saturday, May 2, 2020

Bellevue, WA
Registration information will be posted when available

 

News and Archives

Tournament results, board meeting minutes and other information from Northwest Judo Yudanshakai and Washington State Judo Inc. are available through the pages below:

Tournament Results

Northwest Judo Yudanshakai Archives

FY 2019-2020 renewal

Message from WSJI President, January 2020 (includes WSJI renewal instructions)

Memo from USJF Medical Committee regarding ongoing COVID-19 pandemic (March 14, 2020)