Judo Northwest

Judo Northwest

Northwest Judo Yudanshakai & Washington State Judo Inc.
Welcome

Welcome

**Happy New Year message from WSJI President (with 2019 renewal information)**

Welcome to the JudoNW website, a cooperative effort to supply our members and persons looking into the martial way known as Judo.

Judo translates to The Gentle Way and is practiced around the world as a physical education program, a competitive sport played locally, nationally and internationally. Judo has been an Olympic sport since 1964.  Judo has something for everyone, including those that want to compete against others but also for those that want to compete against the toughest opponent they will ever meet, themselves. Judo teaches a variety of techniques from throws to grappling. It can be practiced as both a competitive and a recreational sport. Kata or the practice of choreographed movements, as well as Self Defense are also part of the study of Judo.

For those of you that already know what I am talking about this site is set up to help keep you informed of events happening within the NW. You will also find an archive page where you can find articles of interest as well as results from area events and meeting minutes.

On behalf of the Northwest Judo Yudanshakai (NWJY) and Washington State Judo Incorporate (WSJI) I bid you welcome and encourage you to reach out should you have any questions.

John Schaedler                                          Brian Toth

   President, NWJY                                       President, WSJI

       schaedler@aquaquip.com                        quidget5@hotmail.com

 

Photos courtesy of John and Kathryn Beck of Saddleburn Media

Area Clubs

 

Judo NW Area Clubs

Club NameLocationContact NameContact InfoWebsite
Best Martial Arts Institute - Judo ClubEugene, ORSteve Nisewander senseibest@gmail.com
Budokan Judo ClubSeattle, WAJohn Schaedler jschaedler@aquaquip.comBudokan Judo website
Central Coast JudoSeal Rock, ORJulie Koyama
jkoyama@hevanet.com
Columbia JudoKennewick, WAMike PurcellColumbiaJudoDojo@gmail.comColumbia Judo website
Emerald City DojoRedmond, WAGreg Deangreg@familydean.net Emerald City Judo website
Glacier Peak JudoSnohomish, WAJoe ButlerMelody.gillette@sno.wednet.edu
Ippon Judo DojoLakewood, WAJason Haraiippondojo@aol.com Ippon Judo Dojo website
JBER JudoAnchorage, AK 99504Ira KesslerAndrew.curts@us.af.mil
Joseki JudoSpokane Valley, WAJoshua HeuettJosekidojo@gmail.com
Judo Club at University of WashingtonSeattle, WADave Christiansonjudouw@uw.edu Judo UW website
Kent Schools Judo DojoKent, WAPhilip DavisPhilip.davis@kent.k12.wa.us
Ki Haku Judo ClubEnumclaw, WAMike NepperKi Haku Judo facebook page
Kitsap JudoBremerton, WAJan Mossjan.moss14@yahoo.com
Lakeland Judo ClubRathdrum, IDJennifer Badertscherlakelandjudoclub@gmail.comLakeland Judo facebook page
Martial Arts and Judo Academy of BillingsBillings, MTDavid Allendnallen126@msn.com Martial Arts and Judo Academy website
Mercer Island Judo DojoBellevue, WAHarold Yamadamercerislanddojo@hotmail.com Mercer Island Judo facebook page
Mountain View JudoAnchorage, AKDavid CheverieDavid@mountainviewjudo.com Mountain View Judo website
NAS Whidbey JudoOak Harbor, WAMel Pantignaswi_judo@yahoo.com
North Sound JudoLake Stevens, WAOscar GonzalezOscar1986mex@gmail.com
Oak Tree DojoYelm, WAFred Ogdenchffred@aol.com Oak Tree Judo facebook page
Obukan DojoPortland, ORToshio Ichinoeobukanjudo@yahoo.com Obukan Judo website
Ojukan JudoHillsboro, ORTim Reynoldsojukan@gmail.com Ojukan Judo website
Oregon JudoOregon City, ORLoren Looselfdjtl@gmail.com
Pacific Judo AcademySpokane, WARobert Harderpacificjudoacademy@comcast.net Pacific Judo Academy website
Richland JudoRichland, WAGael Gettelmangaelgmanx@gmail.com
Sakuma Judo DojoBow, WAAaron Hillairebksak@hotmail.com
Sakurakan Judo DojoSumner, WAMatt McDanielmcdaniel_marjorie@yahoo.com
Seattle DojoSeattle, WAAlan Yamadaseattledojo@hotmail.com
Seiei Judo ClubBellevue, WAJune Encarnacioninfo@seieidojo.com Seiei Dojo website
Seiwakan JudojoPortland, ORJason Fortin-Luedtkeseiwakan@seiwakan.org Seiwakan Judojo website
Shudokan Judo DojoPortland, ORBlane Bellerudshudokanjudo@gmail.com Shudokan Judo website
Snohomish DojoLynnwood, WATroy Leissnohojudo@comcast.net
South Sound JudoTumwater, WAChris Williamschrisw2@comcast.net
Southwestern Oregon Community College JudoCoos Bay, ORRob Schabr.schab@charter.net
Spokane JudoSpokane, WABrett Lewisbrettlewis@brettlewis.us Spokane Judo website
Tri-City JudoKennewick, WARobert Borischrwborisch@yahoo.com Tri-City Judo facebook page
Western Washington University JudoBellingham, WAMark Glasermgwwu@comcast.net
Whatcom DojoLynden, WAMichael Sullivanmichaelsullivan13@comcast.net Whatcom Judo Dojo facebook page
Yushido Judo ClubPuyallup, WABen Goucheryushidojudo@gmail.com
Zenyu Judo DojoMaple Valley, WADoug Grahamrockridgefarm@earthlink.netZenyu Judo Dojo website

Upcoming Events

Upcoming Events in the Pacific Northwest

  • Western Idaho Judo Institute’s New Year’s Clinic and Practice Matches

Saturday, January 12, 2019
Sponsored by Western Idaho Judo Institute (WIJI), Daiheigen Yudanshakai
Fruitland, Elementary School
Fruitland, ID 83619

2019 WIJI Clinic Information Packet

 

  • East Side Circuit Judo Tournaments Event 2

Saturday, January 19, 2019
Hosted by Lakeland Judo & Joseki Judo
Timberlake Junior High School, Spirit Lake, ID

East Side Circuit Judo Tournament flyer (with links to information packet and waivers)

 

  • East Side Circuit Judo Tournaments Event 3

Sunday, February 17, 2019
Hosted by Lakeland Judo & Joseki Judo
Hub Sports Center, Liberty Lake, WA

East Side Circuit Judo Tournament flyer (with links to information packet and waivers)

 

  • Obukan Judo Tournament

Saturday, March 23, 2019
Portland, OR

Tournament packet will be posted when available

 

  • 2019 Washington State Championships

Saturday, April 13, 2019
Hosted by Lakeland Judo and Joseki Dojo
Coeur D’Alene High School, Coeur d’Alene, ID

Washington State Championships Save the Date flyer

Registration information will be posted when available

 

  • Budokan Annual Tournament

Saturday, April 20, 2019
Hosted by Budokan Dojo
Kent, WA

2019 Budokan Dojo Judo Tournament registration packet

2019 Budokan Dojo Judo Tournament registration link

 

  • Seattle Dojo Annual Judo Tournament

Saturday, May 4, 2019
Hosted by Seattle Dojo
Bellevue, WA

Tournament packet will be posted when available

 

  • Pacific Northwest Middle and High School Judo Championships

Saturday, May 11, 2019
Kent, WA
Tournament information will be posted when available

 

  • Inland Empire Judo Tournament

Saturday, May 25, 2019
Spokane, WA

Tournament information will be posted when available

 

  • Seiei Dojo Judo Boot Camp

Second Saturday of every month, beginning Saturday, November 11
Bellevue, WA
Seiei Dojo Judo Boot Camp information packet

Archives

Tournament results, board meeting minutes and other information from Northwest Judo Yudanshakai and Washington State Judo Inc. are available through the pages below:

Tournament Results

Northwest Judo Yudanshakai Archives

FY 2018-2019 Club Renewal

Message from WSJI President, January 2019 (includes WSJI renewal instructions)