Judo Northwest

Judo Northwest

Northwest Judo Yudanshakai & Washington State Judo Inc.


Welcome to the JudoNW website, a cooperative effort to supply our members and persons looking into the martial way known as Judo.

Judo translates to The Gentle Way and is practiced around the world as a physical education program, a competitive sport played locally, nationally and internationally. Judo has been an Olympic sport since 1964.  Judo has something for everyone, including those that want to compete against others but also for those that want to compete against the toughest opponent they will ever meet, themselves. Judo teaches a variety of techniques from throws to grappling. It can be practiced as both a competitive and a recreational sport. Kata or the practice of choreographed movements, as well as Self Defense are also part of the study of Judo.

For those of you that already know what I am talking about this site is set up to help keep you informed of events happening within the NW. You will also find an archive page where you can find articles of interest as well as results from area events and meeting minutes.

On behalf of the Northwest Judo Yudanshakai (NWJY) and Washington State Judo Incorporate (WSJI) I bid you welcome and encourage you to reach out should you have any questions.

John Schaedler                                          Brian Toth

   President, NWJY                                       President, WSJI

   Jschaedler101@comcast.net                    WSJIpres@gmail.com



Photos courtesy of John and Kathryn Beck of Saddleburn Media

Area Clubs


Judo NW Area Clubs

Club NameLocationContact NameContact InfoWebsite
Best Martial Arts Institute - Judo ClubEugene, ORSteve Nisewander senseibest@gmail.com
Budokan Judo ClubSeattle, WAJohn Schaedler jschaedler@aquaquip.comBudokan Judo website
Central Coast JudoSeal Rock, ORJulie Koyama
Columbia JudoKennewick, WAMike PurcellMike@ColumbiaJudo.org Columbia Judo website
Emerald City DojoRedmond, WAGreg Deangreg@familydean.net Emerald City Judo website
Glacier Peak JudoSnohomish, WAJoe Butlerinfo@glacierpeakjudo.com
Ippon Judo DojoLakewood, WAJason Haraiippondojo@aol.com Ippon Judo Dojo website
Joseki JudoSpokane Valley, WAJoshua HeuettJosekidojo@gmail.com
Judo Club at University of WashingtonSeattle, WADave Christiansonjudouw@uw.edu Judo UW website
Kent Schools Judo DojoKent, WAPhilip DavisPhilip.davis@kent.k12.wa.us
Kitsap JudoBremerton, WAJan Mossjan.moss14@yahoo.com
Lakeland Judo ClubRathdrum, IDJennifer Badertscherlakelandjudoclub@gmail.comLakeland Judo facebook page
Martial Arts and Judo Academy of BillingsBillings, MTDavid Allendallen126@msn.com Martial Arts and Judo Academy website
Mercer Island Judo DojoBellevue, WAHarold Yamadamercerislanddojo@hotmail.com Mercer Island Judo facebook page
Mountain View JudoAnchorage, AKDavid CheverieDavid@mountainviewjudo.com Mountain View Judo website
NAS Whidbey JudoOak Harbor, WAMel Pantigjudoka@cablespeed.com
North Sound JudoLake Stevens, WAReuben Malloy
Oak Tree DojoYelm, WAFred Ogdenchffred@aol.com Oak Tree Judo facebook page
Obukan DojoPortland, ORToshio Ichinoeobukanjudo@yahoo.com Obukan Judo website
Ojukan JudoHillsboro, ORTim Reynoldsojukan@gmail.com Ojukan Judo website
Oregon JudoOregon City, ORLoren Looselfdjtl@gmail.com
Pacific Judo AcademySpokane, WARobert Harderpacificjudoacademy@comcast.net Pacific Judo Academy website
Richland JudoRichland, WAGael Gettelmangjgmanx@clearwire.net
Sakuma Judo DojoBow, WAAaron Hillairebksak@hotmail.com
Seattle DojoSeattle, WAAlan Yamadaseattledojo@hotmail.com
Seiei Judo ClubBellevue, WAJune Encarnacioninfo@seieidojo.com Seiei Dojo website
Seiwakan JudojoPortland, ORJason Fortin-Luedtkeseiwakan@seiwakan.org Seiwakan Judojo website
Shudokan Judo DojoPortland, ORBlane Bellerudshudokanjudo@gmail.com Shudokan Judo website
Snohomish DojoLynnwood, WATroy Leissnohojudo@comcast.net
South Sound JudoTumwater, WAChris Williamschrisw2@comcast.net
Southwestern Oregon Community College JudoCoos Bay, ORRob Schabr.schab@charter.net
Spokane JudoSpokane, WABrett Lewisbrettlewis@brettlewis.us Spokane Judo website
Tri-City JudoKennewick, WARobert Borischrwborisch@yahoo.com Tri-City Judo facebook page
Western Washington University JudoBellingham, WAMark Glasermgwwu@comcast.net
Whatcom DojoLynden, WAMichael Sullivanmichaelsullivan13@comcast.net Whatcom Judo Dojo facebook page
Yushido Judo ClubPuyallup, WABen Goucheryushidojudo@gmail.com
Zenyu Judo DojoMaple Valley, WADoug Grahamrockridgefarm@earthlink.netZenyu Judo Dojo website

Upcoming Events

Upcoming Events in the Pacific Northwest


  • Washington State Judo Championships

Saturday, February 17
Kentlake High School, Kent, WA
2018 WA State Entry Packet final


  • 2018 Pacific International

Saturday, March 3 & Sunday, March 4
Olympic Oval, Richmond, BC
Tournament website

2018 Pacific International tournament packet


  • Edmonton International Judo Championship

Friday, March 9 – Sunday, March 11
West Edmonton Mall, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Edmonton International Judo Championship


  • 62nd Annual Obukan Judo Shiai and Kata / Onchi Sensei Memorial Tournament

Kata: Friday, March 23, 6:00pm
Shiai: Saturday, March 24, 9:00am
PCC Cascade Campus Gym, Portland, OR
Obukan Tournament information packet

Obukan Tournament registration and weigh in


  • Seiei Dojo Judo Boot Camp

Second Saturday of every month, beginning Saturday, November 11
Bellevue, WA
Seiei Dojo Judo Boot Camp information packet


  • 2018 Junior Olympic Championships

June 22-24, 2018
Spokane, WA
Entry packet coming soon


Tournament results, board meeting minutes and other information from Northwest Judo Yudanshakai and Washington State Judo Inc. are available through the pages below:

Tournament Results

Northwest Judo Yudanshakai Archives